Strangely Speckled Passionfruit

My passionfruit plant appears to be stricken with some strange disease that makes the fruit look like what I imagine dinosaur eggs looked like. Purple and speckled with yellow-green. I’ve consulted the Passionfruit Growers Association website and the closest thing I found was something called “woodiness.” What a ghastly name.

NIK_4112

There are a few crinkled leaves but it doesn’t appear to be stunted. If anything, there is a good chance it’ll climb over to our towering pine tree and suffocate it.

Now that I think about it, I should make a time-lapse movie. We all know people are suckers for the “based on a true story” badge so Plantzilla Conquers the Tree will undoubtedly be a blockbuster.

NIK_4113

All was tart and tasty inside though. Can any passionfruit experts out there diagnose my plant? I’d appreciate it.

NIK_4135

Leave a Reply

